21st-century Summer School

My wife Lisa and I were out to the movies on date night last Sunday when my phone started vibrating… and vibrating… and vibrating. It was still previews, so I peeked: one of my students was “doing Government class” while I was at the movies. He had just tweeted a link to the “running battle” between the White House and the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee over the ATF’s so-called “Fast and Furious” gun-tracking scheme.

I imagine some folks would complain about being “on all the time;” not me: I think it’s GREATNESS!

One of the reasons I love teaching in ParishVirtual‘s Summer Academy is the amazing flexibility students have to complete their assignments from anywhere, at anytime. Teachers work to complement students’ flexible routines by developing a blended approach that combines innovative, online learning with the support and structure of a more traditional school community: strong relationships developed through weekly face-to-face class meetings and meaningful feedback delivered through our learning management system.

As I was walking the dog this morning, one of my neighbors complained that her son is struggling to stay focused in traditional summer school: eight hours a day for two weeks in a row. Class ends at 5:oo in the afternoon, they rush to his summer baseball games, and then he has homework to do for the next day’s class. She’s exhausted, and her son is worn out, too. To me this seems like all the worst of school compressed into two solid weeks!

How does your school “do” summer school?

About Dr. Ostroff

Head of Upper School at The Emery/Weiner School in Houston, TX
This entry was posted in DaveOstroff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

